Tags

, ,

Lately I have worked a lot from home.  As I am supposed to be researching and writing.  It is arguably very productive.  I don’t spend any time commuting and there aren’t m/any people interrupting my workflow.  After a few days though, an interesting thing happens to me.  I start avoiding people.  I don’t want to go out and engage the world.

The I realize is that I have been lulled into my comfort zone.  It’s like Edmund in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.  I’m wearing a fur coat and living off turkish delight and I don’t want anyone or anything to change that.

The world out there is messy.  People step on my toes in the grocery line up or cut me off in traffic.  Negative feelings rise and force me to consider whether or not I am nice person.  Living in my head, I become obsessed with my to do list and second guess whether or not I have the time to meet the world.  It was a debate I had this week.  There was a 3D conference in Vancouver on Friday and the emails were starting to pile up.  Could I really spare the time?

I did and I was glad.

Hanging out with this community of passionate and like minded people re-ignited me.  I had conversations with artists who create installations. I was able to see some of the best and most inspirational 3D content which fired up my imagination.  I even learned of ways to fund the creative dreams we want to share.  At constant refrain were the debates each producer had trying to convince others of the value of this technology.  These decision makers also want to stay in their comfort zone.

What I am realizing is that the comfort zone is really an illusion.  It does not make us safe.  It lulls us to thinking we are.  Because we are not challenging ourselves to be uncomfortable, we aren’t developing the skills that ensure we will succeed.

And what a shame that would be.

