Tags

,

It has been months, nearly six of them, since I blogged last.   I have a legion of excuses.  Finishing a complicated television series with complicated partners.  Three business trips in short order to determine what life after Battle Castle will be like (at least from a work perspective).  To top it off, I found and bought a new house, marking an important transition of my kids and I.  So I’ve been busy.  I bet you have too.

It is funny though, I feel like I need a win.  In the chaos, I overthink everything and none of my ideas seems good enough, so I don’t sit down to write. I’d like to shake this. There were many accomplishments over the past six months, but I feel like they aren’t really mine and need to get a blog post up to get back on track.

I struggled for the better part of the day on another post with more of an agenda.  My goal is to start a dialogue with people out there about, get this, History.   I always describe myself as having a history brain.  I love to understand how people, places and things fit together and ultimately, why we should care about them.  Historical fiction is wildly popular right now and I love to dive in on these great novels with the intention of losing myself in the past.  I’ve also had the good fortune over many years to share my unique historical perspective through the documentaries we produce for broadcasters around the world.

History is also very political.  Everyone has heard the expression, “The Victor writes the History.”  In some cases they can rewrite history as well.   The federal Conservative Party chose to return to the “Royal” moniker in relation to the Navy and Air Force last August after winning a majority government in May.  That the decision was announced hot on the heels of a successful visit by the Queen’s grandson and his beautiful wife implies the government is keen to bask in the glory of international celebrity.  In a more sinister move, another decision is presented in this article that reveals that the same Conservative government has closed down all of the federal archaeological laboratories save the one in Ottawa and that the Parks Canada has reduced the number of Conservators from 33 a month ago to eight today.  I understand that the economic times are tough and that everyone is being forced to make difficult choices, but if money can be found to change the name of military structures for no particular reason, money could be found for the preservation of historical artifacts as an an investment in the future.  These people and facilities increase the appeal of our tourist destinations and increases our sense of self worth as a nation.  I suspect that the cost of running these programs is tiny relative to our value they return to us.

So, be prepared, we’re going to start talking about history related topics to blow some of the life into the idea that History can be interesting and exciting and whether we can bring some meaning to it all.

