Tags

, ,

It’s officially the second day of 2012.  For the past week, I’ve been playing with ideas for a new blog post, oscillating between a 2011 year end review and looking forward to the things I’d like to achieve in the year to come.  Neither option is light-hearted or inspiring (yet).   The ongoing grind of three years of economic uncertainty keeps extracting its toll.

The irony of course is that we’re rarely happy where we are.  Most of us delay gratification.  I suspect we’re too tired to appreciate the good things even when they do happen—we’ve worn ourselves out in the execution and we celebrate these successes with the reward of sleep.

Professionally too, I am coming off a tough year of producing a six part documentary series Battle Castle with lots of partners, foreign locations and complicated visuals elements.  The irony in filmmaking is that we vest ourselves completely in pitching the project, and we’re happy and excited when we get the green light, but then the reality of executing the ambitious vision comes home to roost.  We’re keen to finish off the project, which will be airing in February, but despite the huge accomplishment will again be bereft as we try to get the next thing off the ground.  The truth is there are always more reasons to feel discouraged and overwhelmed, than happy, proud or successful.

So what’s a person to do?

I think when the big picture out there is overwhelming, it is the perfect time to break things down.  Be present in the moment.  There is no immediate danger, so the sense of dread is misplaced.

Instead, I could consider small, achievable goals.  What can I do today that helps me to feel like I am still moving my dreams in the right direction?  The temptation is to get the current project done now but I would like to recharge by taking a few minutes to jot down some ideas for my medium and long term goals, to keep the ideas bubbling.  Writing them down is a perfect way to ensure these brainstorms aren’t forgotten.  Call it my Book of Dreams.  Writing them down or drawing them, helps to visualize their potential and forges a contract with myself to give it my best effort.

What are you dreaming about for the New Year?

