Tags

, ,

There was the commercial when I was a kid, and relief was spelled R-O-L-A-I-D-S.  A chemical compound to neutralize the acid in your stomach.  For some of us it is a good night’s sleep, a glass of wine or best of all a run on a cool morning.

What gets rid of that feeling for you?  I had a great experience today.  After a miserable week, I finally worked it out.  I had talked to all my best neutralizers.  Nothing worked and mostly made me feel even worse.  There was a truth to one message, however, all too familiar.  “You can’t change them.  You can only change you.”

Changing yourself isn’t as bad as it sounds, and it certainly isn’t becoming someone your not.  It is recognizing that you’ve been banging your head against the wall and all you are doing is giving yourself a headache.  Maybe it is time to stop.  My relief came from a blank page and pencil.  The emptiness was infinite potential.  What is at stake here?  Lines and arrows.  Is there another way to move this around?  A recognition that this could be workable. Then, there it was, relief.

I no longer had the weight of the world on my shoulders.  Maybe that thing or that person at full strength isn’t good for us and sometimes we needs filters. And like after taking the antacid tablets, we can maybe have a slice of pizza and smile again.

Otherwise it will just eat away at you.

